

# LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, September 19, 2024 Dalton Woods Auditorium Energy, Coast and Environment Building

## Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance
Daniel Tirone	President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Inessa Bazayev	Past President	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Parampreet Singh	Vice President	Science	Р
Michelle Osborn	Secretary	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Member-at-Large	Science	Р

## Senators (Alternates)

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	A	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Priscilla Allen	Human Sciences and Education	A	Giulio Mariotti	Coast and Environment	Alt- Paul Miller
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	P	Sarah Mathews	Science	Alt- Bret Elderd
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	P	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alt- Meredith Veldman	Supratik Mukhopadhyay	Coast and Environment	A
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	P	Marcia Newcomer	Science	A
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	P	Wayne Newhauser	Science	A
Christine Bruening	Art and Design	P	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Summer Chandler	Law Center	P	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Alt- Jennifer Blanchard	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	A
Rebecca Christofferson	Veterinary Medicine	Alt- Basal Abuaita	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Ray Diamond	Law Center	P	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	P
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	A	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	A	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	A
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	A	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Charles Goodman	Music and Dramatic Arts	P	Samuel Snow	Engineering	P
Lauren Griffin	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alt- Heather Lucas
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Alt- Colin Wierts	Phillip Sprunger	Science	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	P	Casey Stannard	Agriculture	P
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Min Su	Business	P
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	Α	Chao Sun	Engineering	P
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	A
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	P
Revati Kumar	Science	Р	Bulent Unel	Business	A
Patty Lathan	Veterinary Medicine	A	Ted Waldron	Business	P
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Yuwei Li	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Jian Xu	Engineering	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Science	P	Jun Zou	Art and Design	P
Donald Lund	Business	P			

### Guests

Name	Position	Attendance
Jane Cassidy	OAA	P
Jon Snow	Self (Geol & Geophys)	P
Paul Miller	Dept. Oceanography & Coastal Sci	Р
Dayton White	Business/Staff Senate	Р
Heather Lucas	HSS (for Paul Soto)	P

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:04 pm on September 19, 2024, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Tirone announced alternates. There were no public comments on any agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted.

In his report President Tirone provided updates and notable developments since the last Senate meeting: (i) the positives aspects and areas for improvement of the new remote learning plan; (ii) the upcoming presentation of the report issued by the joint administrative and faculty committee formed to address

questions on the use of Grammarly in student coursework; (iii) the LSU A&M Faculty Report given at the Board of Supervisors Meeting highlighted the many accomplishments of faculty and was well-received by the Board. At the end of his report, President Tirone discussed the basic plans for upcoming meetings and invited Senators to make known to FSEC any topics of interest they would like covered. There were no questions from the floor.

### Special Orders: Faculty Senate Executive Committee Member-at-Large Election

President Tirone described the role of the Member-at-Large and then invited Mattza, the only nominee, to read her statement of her intentions for serving in the position. With no nominations from the floor, Mattza was elected unopposed to the position of Member-at-Large on the FSEC.

#### **New Business**

The next item of business was elections to Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate.

Goodman made a motion to hold the election for the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee. With no objections, the motion carried. President Tirone gave a presentation on the charge of the commit and discussed the nominated candidate. With no nominations from the floor, Adam Clay was elected unopposed to the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee.

Shihadeh made a motion to hold the election for the Faculty Adjudication Committee. With no objections, the motion carried. President Tirone gave a presentation on the charge of the commit and discussed the nominated candidates. Shihadeh self-nominated from the floor. Joy Blanchard, Jean Chamecheu, Julia Irwin, and Edward Shihadeh were elected unopposed to the Faculty Adjudication Committee.

Peters-Hill made a motion to hold the election for the Faculty Appeals Board. With no objections, the motion carried. President Tirone gave a presentation on the charge of the commit and discussed the nominated candidates. Peters-Hill self-nominated from the floor. Blake Howe, Meredith Feldman, and Rosemary Peters-Hill were elected unopposed to the Faculty Appeals Board.

Remaining seats to be filled: 1 on the Budget & Planning Advisory Committee; 3 on the Faculty Appeals Board.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:28 pm following a motion by Shihadeh. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michelle Osborn, Secretary